A new law will be instated in Idaho that aims to reduce uninsured drivers by suspending their vehicle registration. This law will take effect on the 1st of January.
Each month,the state Department of Motor Vehicles will cross-check vehicle identification numbers against registered vehicles allowing them to see who has not kept insurance on their vehicles.
Should drivers fail to keep insurance, it could lead to the suspension of their vehicle registration after a couple of months.
After two months, uninsured drivers will receive a notice informing them that they have 30 days to get insurance. Proof of such registration along with $75 will be needed once registration has been revoked.
In the last year, Idaho Falls police wrote 609 tickets for failure to provide proof of insurance and 139 tickets for failure to maintain insurance.